style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 2522 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hi All first ever post so bear with me please.

I was rudely awoken at 7am by a gentleman who claimed to be a bailiff the on wednesday morning

and it was regarding council tax payment for an old house that i moved out of in 2008.

I had originally agreed payment with the council and was paying in £40 monthly.

I am currently a full time student and during holiday time traveled away for 7 weeks, during this time my account went into arrears.

On return there was a couple of letters from the council reminding me that my account was in arrears and to rectify this.

I called the council explained what had happened and the lady said i should just continue paying agreed amount.

However, i was shocked to see this (glorified doorman) bailiff slamming on my door and he said he was going to Levy my wife's car which was on our drive.

I explained to him that it was not my car but he said everything you own is 50:50 yours.

I have rang the council who have now backtracked on our agreement and are saying deal with the bailiffs nothing to do with us.

I have called the bailiffs to try and arrange a payment but they are saying they want full payment and there is no other option.

My 48 hours runs out this evening and the bailiff has promised that Lorries will be waiting to remove goods from my house.

Numerous calls to and fro have not yielded any benefit. HELP please.

I will be grateful for any advice.

hi mgabe.

welcome along.

he cant levey on the car its not yours.