floricita

Really need some help and support

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 2530 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hi,I have finally made the decision to face my debts in the face. However, I don't think I can do it alone and would really appreciate some help and support.

Just to give a brief background and the situation to date.I have been a compulsive gambler in the past. I have been recieving councilling for 12 months from gamcare and in that time I had 2 relapses. By and large I think and hope the problem has finished. But I am always aware of it and I know I need to be constantly on my guard.

I am also currently going through a divorce.I lost my job this year.I lost my mum last year.A combination of those things is why I am in debt. I have dealt with those problems, but I have been ignoring my debt problems.In fact I have a big pile of letters stashed away which I am too scared to open.

We get constant phone calls to my house which I now live in with my dad which stresses him out and I now have no idea what my overall debt situation actually is.I am embarrassed and ashamed that I have not been able to manage my finances like a normal adult would be able to.

I am desperate to put this right and manage them going forwards. I know I, am to blame for this situation and no one else and only I can do something about it.Not surprisingly it has made me feel quite ill and depressed and on a couple of occasions I did even think about suicide.