JandX

ESA worries

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 2534 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

I would like some advice on ESA. I have been in the support group for two years and my medical issue is highly unlikely to ever go away. However, I would really like to get back to work despite this problem. My background is in teaching and a position has come up which I think I might like to go for. But the job doesn't start until September 2013 and if offered the job I would have to sign the contract immediately.

My problem is what to do with the ESA. It would be another ten months before I started working and even then I would still have my medical problem. So, if offered the job, do I inform ESA? I cannot afford for them to stop my payments for the next 10 months as I would have no income but I also don't want to commit benefit fraud.

Therefore, if they stopped my ESA, I cannot apply for this job as I could not afford to live. Does anybody know how signing up to work in ten months time would affect my benefit now? Please can you give me the legal view rather than a personal view of I would not tell them?