2 x ParkingEye "fines" in Chelmsford - CLAIM FORM RECEIVED

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4055 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

First let me explain a few things about this ticket. I'm a mature student who studies in Chelmsford and due to mortgage/family commitments has no alternative but to commute. Parking in Chelmsford is expensive and I have to park five days a week most weeks for lectures. The university I study at also offers no parking for students.

As a result I had been parking in a ParkingEye controlled car park that allows for 2 hours parking free. I arrive at 08:50ish and after my first lecture of 2 hours dash back to the car park (11:10ish) and move my car to a residential area that is only permit controlled between 10:00-11:00. After 2 weeks of doing this, so far so good, no problems.

However one day, one of my student colleagues asked me to accompany her to a doctor appointment and I, in all honesty, completely forgot to move my car. I went back to move it over an hour after the two hour limit and duly have received a "fine" of £50 (increasing to £85 after 14 days) through the post.

The general advice I know is to ignore. However they also sent a leaflet explaining that due to a law change 01/10/12 they now don't need to identify the driver and can "fine" the registered keeper.

I'm very aware that I shouldn't have parked there for so long but also feel that £50/£85 is extortionate for one hour of parking. Also being a student, I'll have to work 2 extra days on top of my studies to pay it! (I already work/study 6 and 1/2 days a week!)