BankFodder BankFodder

Droopy

Disputed 15 year old "debt"

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 2689 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Greetings :wink:

I am new to the Consumer Action Group and I have spent quite a while looking around.

It seems that you are doing great things here and I could use a little advice myself.

Bit of History

I have just spent seven years in a Debt Management Plan with Payplan (who I can definitely recommend)and I have just become debt free (or so I thought) after repaying over £40k.

It damned near killed me (seriously – I had a major heart attack half way through) and it was recommended I declare myself bankrupt more than once, but I stuck at it and I finally paid everything.

Problem

I have just received a letter from 1st Credit looking for me. Not wanting to stick my head in the sand, I called them, to be told by the nice man that I owed some £2.5k on a Lombard bank loan going back to an address I moved away from 15 years ago. Tis jogged my memory as I will explain, but I told him that I wouldn’t be making full payment today as I disputed the loan was mine and asked him to supply me with a copy of the agreement. His said he would supply this and I bid him goodbye.

Lombard Bank

This “debt” from Lombard bank first raised its head around 8 years ago. I honestly don’t recall having dealt with them and I don’t think this debt is mine.