Help with Council Tax debt.

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4340 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

I have a similar situation and I was wondering if there is a way around Charge for payment of Money.

My Council tax relates to 2006-7, I was a student at the time and provided the council with a letter from the institute.

I was not aware that the council did not accept it and wanted a form stamped by the College; I assume it was settled and moved on.

4 Years on, I received a call from Sterling Park asking for outstanding debt, I explained them they situation, they advised me to contact the council and put my account on hold for 14 days.

I was sending letters back n forth to the council and one fine day a Sherrif Officer turned up at my place and handed me a Charge for payment of money, it states that there were Summary Warrants issued against me in March and August 2008; I have no idea of those.

Current Situation:

The council is not ready to accept the original letter and needs a new form attested by the college, the college was down-south and is now under a new administration, they don't have the data to confirm.

14 days are over and Sterling Park has added £74 to the payment. Council won't advise them to stop while I attempt to convince the college to look into their old records.

Any advise would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Mo

Hello and Welcome, Mo.

I've moved your post to a thread of it's own.

The first thing you'll know about the summary warrant is when you receive the Charge for Payment.