local authority high charge for simple work on door

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4357 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi everyone, just joining for the first time and looking for some help or advice.

I am in a dispute with haringey council over their costs to replace the communal door on the entrance to my block of flats. I work in the construction industry myself and know only to well the work involved and costs for these works., this is very basic type work, just replacing old with new, no major construction work involved.

I have contacted the companies that will be supplying both the steel door and frame, and also the new entry phone system and received quotes for supply and fit one steel door and frame £2,600. supply one entryfone system £866.00 plus the cost for connecting the entry phone to six flats. I would estimate a total of approximately £4000.00

The council are replacing doors in eleven different estates in the area and will be able to negotiate a much better price on a bulk buy deal rather than the quote I received for just one door & entryphone.

there is seven communal doors in total in my block which access 42 flats, each communal door accesses 6 flats and the council are suggesting it will cost £68,222.00 to replace seven doors, absolutely insane, thats almost £10,000.00 for each door, compare this against my own very generous estimate of £4000