Job Centre telling me to throw money away

RealName
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4415 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I've been unemployed for a while now and the job centre are really upping the pressure on the jobs I apply for. While I'm OK with applying for jobs outside of the area I have a degree in, some of the things I've been told are mandatory for me to do are only going to cause me to lose money.

My degree was in film and I've been told that I have to get an agent that deals with this career path by next week or my money will be stopped. I explained that in this career path such agents have to be paid for and it's not financially viable for me to do so, but they weren't interested.

One of the other jobs I was also shown today would cost me £20 a day if I took it, due to the travel costs being high and it being a full-time minimum wage job with only a few working hours a day. I pointed this out but they told me that at least it gives me some experience and I should just settle for what I can get. They also told me that if I don't have something else by next week and I refuse to apply for that job (yes, I was given only a week rather than the usual two) then my money will be stopped.

Are they in the right to stop my money if I refuse to do both things? I can possibly work around the agency one through a contact, but a job that's going to cost me around £400 a month is obviously not worth having at all and I'd be considerably better off having no job and no benefits.

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic