Tax Credit Enq

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3400 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

Hope you can give me some advice. I've been claiming tax credits for three years for me and my husband. I work part time and my husband was unemployed until December 2011. Last week I rang the Tax Credit department to report the changes, informing them that my husband has began work.

Yesterday, I had a letter saying that the income that I stated is different from what they have for 2010-2011. It had picked up my small pension that I receive monthly from a private pension. I feel really stupid as I didn't think that this made any difference. I didn't do this dishonestly I thought that they meant state pensions. My husband is livid with me and have told me that ignorance is no excuse and I should have declared it. Apart from the initial paperwork I've always renewed my credits over the phone and normally they just ask is there a change in income.....

The letter has said that if I disagree with it to contact them by the 24th Jan. Well I agree with it. I don't know what to do now. Do I sit tight and hope that they will only pick me up for that year and have to pay the overpayment or should I contact them to explain my ignorance. What will happen next? Even with my husband working and my pension credit we should still be entitled to a small amount of Tax Credit.

I have never experienced anything like this before and so very worried. Any advice will be appreciated.

Tell your husband to get a grip. You made a mistake, it happens. You didn't mastermind a fraud.