Writing to Gary Perryment - A Happy Ending!

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3456 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I have recently had to write to Gary Perryment in relation to a claim for accidental damage on my DSLR camera, and wanted to share with you what my result was, and that it is not always as much trouble as many other threads state (hopefully it will ease some worrying minds!).

I had been paying for Whatever Happens monthly for about 3 years, when my DSLR was accidently damaged when I fell in a lake with the camera, and it would no longer turn on. I took the camera to my local Currys store and they said it would be sent away for repair. After about 2 weeks, the store called and said my camera was returned unrepaired, and had a letter with it that I should collect. I went to the store and was told that the camera wasn't fixed, but passed on to the claims investigation team, and I would have to appeal by writing to Mr. Perryment. I was also given a certificate from "DKAVS" (the company that fix cameras for Dixons stores I assume) stating that it had been left unrepaired due to "unexplained water damage". At this point I was worried I might not win this claim and have lost both my camera and all the money I had spent on the Whatever Happens cover. I knew the policy covered accidents and water damage, and was confused as to why they hadn't fixed/replaced it for me as promised. Reading various forums made this even worse as so many people said they had failed to get their products replaced after writing their appeal letters.