Reposession and can a deposit clear arrears if agreed upon?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4605 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello all,

I've been renting a flat on an assured shorthold tenancy since 2006. On moving in I paid a deposit and 1 month rent in advance. The deposit was not put into a deposit scheme as it was not mandatory at the time.

3 years into the tenancy my landlady sold the property and the purchaser agreed to continue the tenancy under the same terms. The deposit and advance were never written about but I was told verbally they had been transferred to the new landlord (the deposit was still not held under a deposit scheme). Also, a new tenancy agreement was never written, I just continued to live here on a rolling tenancy agreement.

I am now set to leave but this is due to reposession and eviction. I was informed of the reposession a few months ago and decided to withold rent until I knew what was going on (so that I didn't pay it to the landlord and then find the mortgage company trying to claim it off me).

I've recently been informed that up until reposession the landlord is still owed rent as even though he has defaulted he still 'owns' the flat. Is this correct?

Also, as I'm in arrears could I used my deposit and rent to pay towards the arrears if the landlord agrees? Would I need a formal signed document from my landlord to show that he has accepted my deposit and advance as payment towards arrears, or would an email do?

Thanks for any advice on this matter.

Yes, you do still owe rent until you are evicted.