Urgent help needed: Hotel manager left 4 adults on street

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4677 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I am writing this message in a sleeping bag in a dorm corridor. At least it's quite warm in here.

This Saturday (2 July 2011) is the day when I graduate from the university with a MSc degree in Natural Sciences. This is an one-in-a-lifetime event, for which I invited my family to come over to the UK (I'm an international student from the EU).

I have made the booking via (Hostelbookers dot com) for a guesthouse in Cambridge on 7 May 2011 for three nights starting today (Friday, July 1st), and have paid the deposit using Visa Debit. It was agreed to pay the remaining cash on arrival. However, yesterday (Thursday, June 30th) the hotel manager called me and recommended to look for alternative places to stay, because, due to the airlines strike, the people currently accommodating the dedicated room cannot leave. I did my best to find a place, but nothing affordable was available- the graduation weekend is a big thing here.