style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4656 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

In 2007 i took out a hired purchase agreement on a car from Bank of Scotland. I am in my final year of the agreement with only four months left before i have to pay final balance. The strange thing is four months ago they stopped taking payment from me (I have a standing order set up). A few months ago i recieved a letter from Bank of Scotland stating they have transferred this agreement to Lloyds but all payment details will stay the same. Fair enough i thought! Last week i recieved another letter stating that the agreement has now been transfered to Lex Autolease, which is also part of Lloyds telling me to set up a new standiing order with them.

I find all of this ridiclous as i do not feel it is my job to chase them to collect my money. This should have been done automatically without any problems. Now, i have recieved a letter from Bank of Scotland telling me that the account is overdue.

What i would like to know is what are my rights in this case? Are Lloyds and Bank of Scotland now one? I need to request my original signed agreement but as far as i am concerned i took this agreement out with Bank of Scotland, not Lloyds or Lloyds Lex Autolease.

Any suggestions? Could i potentially write this off and keep the car?

Hi and welcome to CAG

As you are paying via standing order, it is down to you to reset it. The creditors cannot do it.

As for why your payments were refused, you would have to write to them to find out why. Your standing order should have gone but their systems may have rfused it so you could check with your own bank.