Amex inaction and miscommunication - advice needed on strategy please

teejarillo
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4714 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi there - newbie here wondering if some of your expert members could give me their opinion/advice on my situation and planned strategy.

Holder of Amex Green Credit Card with approx £2.8K balance. Due to financial issues have only been paying min payments for past 12 months or so. Not over limit or behind.

Last December got standard letter saying Green card ending transferring you to Gold card with higher rates and annual fee etc unless opt out . Wrote to opt out. Never acknowledged. On last day of opt out period phoned and they said got letter but never acted on it sorry blah blah will close your account etc. Wrote complaining about service and requested reduction of bal/rate as apology etc.

Next in February received a template letter from Amex confirming accent now “closed and balance is zero“. So did obvious thing and cancelled direct debit and sat back and waited.

Shortly after got apology letter from Customer Services saying review of my complaint (that ignored my opt out letter) carried out and complaint upheld and £30 credit to account. Option to pursue matters further with FOS communicated.

Still did nothing. Received letter in April saying direct debit returned and I should pay min amount due. Responded with copy of zero balance letter saying according to you account closed and zero bal so cancelled DD on that basis. No response.