BankFodder BankFodder

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 3355 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hello everyone,

Recently I have received a coucil tax notice from the southhwark council from 2006 amount is £200. Then received another bill for my name and the other tenants name the amount of £500 in total. Now I have received a Bailiff notice demanding £500. :???:

I never received any court order or letters before, usually I rent studios with all bills inc. so it was never a headache for me.

I'm really new to this and don't know what to do. I have emailed the council with the ref saying I was a sub tenant renting a room at that time. Lived there for 8 months only and the utility bill should be paid by the landlord. The landlord was my employer as well and used to take the rent from my wage directly.

I just don't know what shall I do? Some documents are lost due to moving around. So how can I prove that it was not only me who should pay the council tax?

Please I would appreciate any advices.

nothing to gain by signing anything for bailiffs or having anything to do with them -plenty to lose by signing

the bad news is

disputing a magistrate's liability order for council tax

[is designed to be &] may be difficult

however you might swiftly get the order recalled by the council from the bailiffs as follows

did you get a letter warning you the liability order hearing was about to happen?

[known as a 14 day notice]

If not you do have grounds for a service complaint to the local taxation services