bailiffs fees

acerbic
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4821 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

If a mortgage co instructs bailiffs to attend a property for eviction, but the court then orders a suspension of that order. Can the mortgage co charge your account for the instruction and cancellation?

Being charged £30 for telling Bailiffs not to attend any more. Is that right that I'm paying for the bailiff? Even though I didn't ask him in the first place!

Any thoughts?

I have had personal dealings in the areas I comment on, however, I am not a lawyer. Any advice I give is without prejudice and is merely my opinion based on the information I have gleaned from my experiences, understanding and interpretation of the law. You should always seek the advice of a qualified legal professional.

Hi Acerbic,

Mortgage companies generally charge for everything and make provision for it in their terms and conditions, most fees are added to the mortgage balance including legal costs unless the court orders them not to, this is why costs are rarely considered at mortgage repo hearings. The FSA and OFT provide rules and guidance on how they may calculate charges. The general principle being that the lender cannot recover more than their costs when imposing charges which arise from arrears. That does not mean that they have to calculate to the penny exactly what each piece of work costs on each file but they can work out an average so they can then publish a tariff of fees to give customers a guide to possible costs in advance.