Managing agents threatening to repossess a leasehold property

Matt63
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4805 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello, first time posting here!

I have a leasehold flat with little equity, if any. I am in mortgage arrears as a result of a bad time for me in 2008, but I have been paying these off at £100 per month since April 2009. The property has been on the market almost continuously since 2007 but I have never received an offer satisfactory to the mortgage company.

In June of last year, the mortgage company tried to repossess on the basis of "new information" available to them, but I managed to persuade them that the information, whilst true, was misleading.

In 2008, the freeholders sold the freehold to a professional freehold company, and the new freeholders immediately appointed new managing agents whose sole object seem to be to charge extortionate service charges for little actual improvement in the services provided.

In September 2010 I received a "major works" demand for approx £14k. I got a surveyor in and he told me that whilst there were items he would question on my behalf, the freeholder was obligated to do these works and that I should prepare myself to pay a sum approaching 10k.

So I wrote to the managing agents, pointed out that the work could not start until next spring, and offered them £560 a month pending discussions on the scope of the works being proposed. I enclosed my first cheque for £560 with the letter.