UK Debt- Canadian resident

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4841 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I am a Canadian resident studying the in UK

I have tenant debt with a large letting agency-I had provided my landlord with my account information for direct withdrawals, they never took rent from me (truth be told, it was my father's bank account- he thought the money I was withdrawing was for rent while I thought rent money was being directly withdrawn and the remainder was my spending money)

After I gave the landlord my notice that I was moving out the Landlord then realized that they had not taken rent and wanted me to pay immediately and I obviously did not have they money to pay them then and I left the UK as my school term was over.

They don't have any information in regards to where I live and since they can't get in contact with me I don't know what actions they have taken against me ( I don't have any letters regarding this debt, I don't know if any is waiting for me in the UK)

I recently tried to open an account in the UK and I was refused due to poor credit. I'm guessing it stems from all this.

Anyways I'm just wondering what effects this will have on me if I move back to Canada- mainly these things

1) If this went to the CCJ, will I be held at the UK border if go back due to this? ( I understand its a civil matter but I'm going in with a Visa- does this make a difference?)

2) What happens if this was sent to the CCJ?

3) Can this debt follow me to Canada? Can this effect my credit in Canada? (I know about reciprocal agreements between UK and Canada, but what does this mean exactly for me? )