style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4860 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi All,

Total newby here, so apologies in advance if I've done this wrong, no doubt you will put me straight.

A bailiff from Jacobs visited my home on three occassions to recover outstanding council tax, we had tried to pay at the council offices on earlier occasions but were told it had to be paid to the bailiffs,(this was before Jacobs got involved) each visit incurred a £30 fee plus a walking possession order on our car and a van fee of £110, they have never entered and nothing has been signed.

I had read up on various forums about the fees and his powers and when he came on the third occasion pointed out a few facts, in the mean time we had been to the council and despite their reluctance to accept it we paid the outstanding balance (£319 grim christmas ahead) and so gave the bailiff a letter telling him this, he was less than pleased, insisted that the fees were paid in full within seven days.

I have written to the council to complain and also asked the bailiff company to give me a breakdown of their fees, the council have replied defending the bailiffs (as expected) and stated that they had just rounded of to the nearest pound, lol, waffled on about us defaulting on an agreement with Jacobs? and saying as a good will gesture they would drop a £60 waiting time fee? the bailiffs replied without giving a break down but demanding payment in seven days.

That's where I am at the moment.