Desperately need advise on council tax and bailiff, please help

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4075 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi

I desperately need a bit of advise on what should I do.

Basically when I was a student about 5 years ago, I share a house with my 3 other people, 1 of them wasn't a student, and I think he was liable for council tax payment.

Five year has gone past, I have moved several time, and have already lost contact with all the people used to live in that house.

But when I just moved into this new property about year ago, I start receiving letters from the previous council tracing the payment for council tax for my ex house mate, I wasn't paying too much attention since it wasn't under my name.

Until last month, I got a letter from Bailiffs said they will come to seize my good, but strangely the letter from bailiff has both my name (which spell wrongly) and that ex house mate's name. I don't think they have visited the house yet, or they might have been and I wasn't in, since I worked full time and I'm out most of the time.

Can someone please advised me what should I do, since I don't think I was liable for the debt, and how could they associate my ex house mate to my address? From my knowledge he had moved to somewhere in Europe many years ago.

have you had sight of a thing called a liability order from the council concerned?

dx

please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

DCA's view debtors as suckers, marks and mugs

NO DCA has ANY legal powers whatsoever on ANY debt no matter what it's Type

and they

are NOT and can NEVER  be BAILIFFS. even if a debt has been to court..