Need advice, chased by collectors

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4074 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi all, newbie here and need some advice

Last year i contacted Payplan, gave them my debt, income/expenditure etc and was advised they couldnt help, but sent me an info pack and told me to make offer of payment to all my creditors. I did this and everyone accepted and i was paying regularly.

Recently moved and started was contacted about a debt that i even forgot i had, so sent another financial statement and offer of payment to everyone...but i've not heard anything back from a company called Lewis Recovery Group, until one of their door collectors left a card when i was at work. I called them last night to find out why when i had contacted them, and they said that my offer hadn't been accepted because my first payment was going to be too far in advance (4 weeks approx), but they didnt tell me this. Fair enough i've been working alot and have a few personal issues at the min and i forgot to chase them up about it, but they said they cant help and i need to come to an arrangement with the door step collector? I cant manage my DMP (?) on my own and admit i need help now.

I'm going to contact CCCS now, but need advice what to do about the collector that keeps coming round?

Many thanks in advance!

Hi Sch

Welcome to CAG

The door step collector has no powers. If they want to contact you, they should only contact you by post. There are OFT Guidelines as to how they should conduct their business. http://www.consumeractiongroup.co.uk/forum/content.php?441-If-you-do-receive-a-doorstep-visit-we-give-these-suggestions-to-Members.

Hi gnu