Interview Under caution and ESA

Generalbear

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4079 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi all i have been claiming esa for a couple of years, due to a long term in curable illness. I have never had any problems, and despite the benefit life is still a struggle. Yet today i recieve a letter stating that i must attend an interview undercaution, to discuss a possible criminal matter.

Utterly shocked, i rang the relevant number on the letter.

I was informed that i was under suspicion of benefit fraud due to payments coming from my employer each month.

Whilst i do get a payment, the money is from Health insurance i took out and paid up before getting ill. Surely this cannot be fraud. I am always declared that money, but i dont think it counts as income does it?

I am worried now as the letter seems to imply that i could be imprisoned for this.

I have a partner who is a full time mum to our 2 children, because of my illness ( i was in a very well paid job) i lost my home, and everything and am gradually paying but a myriad of debts back and life is a struggle now seemingly they want to put me in prison i dont know what to do!

Hi General

Welcome to CAG

Thing sometimes seem a lot worse then they actually are. The guys here will assist shortly.

Hello and welcome to CAG and the forum. I don't see any reason why you shouldn't receive ESA and insurance benefits. That's what happened to me although I was on IB, so you might need to double-check the rules. But as I don't completely understand ESA, which type are you on please?