Matt G

Mortgage interest payments stopped abruptly

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 3580 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

My mortgage interest payments are £320.00 per month.

I have been claiming JSA - Council Tax/Housing Benefit since October 2008. The Housing Benefit I received was £270.00/month contribution and I had to make up the shortfall.

I have recently started re-training at NVQ level, one day per week in order to get back into work. It will take several months before I am qualified or competent.

I am still entitled to, and am indeed still claiming JSA/ Council Tax benefits but have been informed that the DWP will stop paying any mortgage interest payments as of next month. This will mean I am forced to find £320.00 a month to remain in my home, from an income of approx' £240.00 JSA.

Surely if I am still entitled to Job Seekers Allowance/Council Tax benefit then some form of housing costs assistence should be forthcoming.

If we are all repossessed and made homeless will this help the economy. I am sure I am not alone in this matter and would welcome any feedback.

Many thanks

Matt

Housing benefit and Support for mortgage interest cannot be claimed simutaneously. Housing benefit is for rented properties and SMI is for mortgaged properties. Were you receiving both?