LA Fitness

Mrs.TT

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4103 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello guys,

I posted the below on the Moneysavingexpert site however just wondered if anyone here may have any solutions.

"Newbie here and feeling very stupid. Wondered if anyone has an any success in cancelling a contract with LA Fitness before the 'initial period' is up?

I joined the gym on 10th September as it is literally across the road from my new workplace. I specifically told the membership agent that I did not want a contract, as I was still at another gym which had become inconvenient but offered flexible membership terms. (so I was looking for the same) I did not know how long I would be in my current role either, which I expressed to her. She suggested the 'perfect' deal which was the corporate plan which I could cancel at any time. I was advised to input details via a touch screen console and would be sent my pre-contract agreement. What i thought I had signed was the direct debit agreement. Instead I had signed a 12 month fixed term loan.

When I realised, I contacted the gym reception, who I have to say where clueless from day one of heading into that facility. I then got in touch with OFT and they advised citing the consumer credit act, 1975 and claim misrepresentation. Wrote to LA Fitness (recorded delivery) and they have just responded by saying I cannot cancel and I have to provide written evidence that the membership was missold. Of course I cannot as it was conversation held with a membership agent.