Debt in UK. What happens now?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4122 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello,

I was a student in the U.K. for a short period of time. I decided to leave right before the second semester started, and notified the University befor the semester started.

A couple of months after I left, I got an invoice stating that i owed them around £3000 in unpaid tuituon fees. I didn't agree with that, since I quit, and notified them by telephone. After this happened, I did not hear anything more. This was in the beginning of 2008. I live in Norway now, and have not lived in U.K. since january '08.

The other day, I got a letter from a British debt collection agency, threatening to take me to court if I don't pay within 14 days.

I understand that they can take legal action against me because of the Lugano(?) convention, but what will the course of action here be?

I also found an article from OFT on this forum, stating that they should not threaten me with legal proceedings when I live in another country. I can't post the link because of my post count, but you may find it.

What is the limit for when a claim is too old to be followed in the U.K. I think it's three years in Norway, but is it the Norwegian or the British rules that apply here?

I appreciate all help that I can get on this matter.

Best regards.

The other day, I got a letter from a British debt collection agency, threatening to take me to court if I don't pay within 14 days.
They cannot take you to court in the UK because you are a non-resident here. They could try in Norway but the cost would be prohibitive for them in reality.