speeding fine advise please

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4978 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

hi, i am new to all this, but last night my brother was stopped by a police office from devon and cornwall constabulary. the office told him he was speeding, he reckoned he was doing 45mph in a 30 limit. he gave my brother a fixed penelty notice of £60 and 3 points. the thing i dont understand is he showed my brother no evidence nor was he following my brother. how to we go about asking for any evidence and should he go to the station and produce his liscense within the 7 days even if we think its wrong?

my brother said the police man sped up from behind him and pulled him over. has anyone got any advise please

An FPN is simply an invitation to pay the fine, take the points and move on without attending Court or being subject to a conviction.

If you believe that you did commit the offence then pay up and take the points. If you are certain that the offence was not committed then you must refuse the FPN and elect to go to Magistrates' Court. Once you have been summoned and entered a plea of not guilty, you will receive a copy of the evidence that will be used in the prosecution. The Police do not have to produce any evidence whatsoever prior to that.