Canadian Debt, UK Resident

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4959 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I am Canadian, but I have been living in the UK for the past year. I have $78,000.00 unsecured Canadian debt, which I have been paying for the last four years (student debt). Over the past four years I have paid over $50,000.00 towards it and it hasn't touched the principle balance.

My situation has changed and I am no longer able to pay what I've been paying.

I have tried to consolidate within the bank, and they have declined because it is unsecured.

I have spoken to debt consolidation agencies, who won't help me because I live out of the country.

I have now tried dealing with the public trustee and looked into bankruptcy or a consumer proposal but it looks like those aren't options either.

Three professionals who I have dealt with regarding this have advised me that I could just stop paying and can't be tracked down because I live in a foreign country. Obviously this isn't the option I would like to take, but I am not having any success sorting it out the other way.

Does anyone know the repercussions for this? Can I be sued or chased by debt collectors in the UK for Canadian debt?

Any advice would be much appreciated. I really don't know what to do about this.

Thank you.

Does anyone know the repercussions for this? Can I be sued or chased by

debt collectors in the UK for Canadian debt?