Help - RWay 9 Year Old Debt - lowell claimform What to do?

SF2010
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3544 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi

I have an old debt with Halifax (OC) for a CCA in 1997, defaulted 2001.

I dont have a default or termination notice, just details from an old credit file.

I have been paying £1 token payments to Robinson Way since around 2006, exact dates unknown.

Since 2008,

Halifax have been sending me 'notice of arrears' letters which show the balance outstanding and shortfalls included.

The shortfall of required payments exceeds the total amount owing on the account letter, is that normally the case?

I have contacted Haifax by telephone in the last 2 weeks.

They advised me to contact the DCA to discuss.

They have not advised me that a debt has been sold to RW.

RW have not advised me that they have bought the debt either.

So, are they part of Halifax?

I sent a SAR to Halifax 9 Aug to ensure that this debt is not Statute Barred as I didnt start getting details of arrears letter until 2 years ago.

Im not sure if this is connected, but I have just received a letter from RW to ask me to increase my payments to £1.50 pm, or repay the debt in full.

Whilst I have no issue in increasing payments by 50p,

after a recent episode with Link Financial trying to claim for a debt 13 years old,

I think it is wise to ensure that this debt is enforceable.

Halifax's more recent actions with the Notice of Arrears suggests that it is, but I think its best to ask.

Should I also send anything to Robinson Way at this stage?

All advice welcome!!

• Replies 222
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic