Parking in Lewes East Sussex

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4173 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I offer this for information only, as I have no personal experience, only the info from a friend who is a frequent parker in Lewes

It seems that they have a very highly motivated (!) team of mostly eastern European CEO's in this town, so apparently there is often a languauge difficulty. The problem has reached such a high level of complaint by drivers who feel and it would seem that they have been improperly penalised that Lewes BC have opened a "Parking Shop" to deal with complaints etc ( I am reliably informed that the Town Hall was getting fed up with it !)

Foe eample friend parked car and paid for ticket, and being a consciencious soul, displayed in the proper manner ( she is a solicitor) However, the ticket glue was rubbish and in the hot weather the ticket dropped off the screen - result a penalty ticket, This is how I got to hear about the Parking Shop and the queues of irate motorists.

So be warned, take a good roll of tape with you to Lewes to make sure your ticket is well displayed

If the CEO saw the car without a ticket displayed, then of course it was issued a PCN. What else would happen? It is irrelevant whether the CEO is Eastern European.

I also park in Lewes quite often - I use one of the p&d carparks in the town centre and have never had a PCN. I have never in my life had a p&d ticket fall off the glass, but maybe it happens to others. In any case - lay the ticket face-up on the dashboard and you're safe.