County court judgement against me :(

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4183 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I have recieved a CCJ against me by the University.

Reason: Not paying the tutition fees in 2006 when I graduated

My argument: at the time I did my degree, the tutition was paid by the LEA (local education authority). At the beggining of each academic year, we have to fill a form to be eligible for tuition fee. I filled that form and passed it. So I could study from 2005-2006 when I graduated after my final year.

After 2007 the LEA re asseedd my application form and realised 1 of the supporting docs (i.e family income) I gave them was the wrong one and asked me to send them it again. Which I did and am still able to do so now. Now the LEA are claiming they never recieved the form. Therefore took the tuition fee off the uni. Therefore means I am in debt to the uni of excess of £1100.

Now I have got a CCJ against me which I feel I need to appeal against.

I have 4 questions in regards:

1) Is it worth appealing against? (the uni have told me it’s most likely I would lose, as they have sent me numerous letters demanding the payment. Despite me claiming that I did send the evidence to the LEA, I cant prove that)

2) Would I need a lawyer to represent me? Would that be covered by legal aid?

3) Would this affect my credit file in terms of employment. I have recently applied for another job and they want to check my credit file.

4) I checked for debt solicitors and they charge £200 an hour and I can no way afford to have legal representation. Is it possible to represent myself?

Thanks for any info.