debsinbrighton

bank account not showing on credit file

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 3645 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hello, I am new to this forum and hope someone can help.

I am 32 years old and for my whole life I have only banked with Natwest. I opened an account with them when I was a student in 1997, and since then have had a current account, savings, ISA, and two credit cards.

A few years ago I applied for another bank account and was turned down. I didn't think much of it, which in retrospect was probably a mistake.

Now my partner and I are trying to get a mortgage, and ordered our credit reports from both Equifax and Experian. I was surprised that neither listed my natwest accounts, and therefore I had effectively no credit history. I assumed this was a mistake, and contacted both credit reference companies, who advised me to ask Natwest to contact them and ask them to pass on my account details. I spoke to my branch manager, who explained that prior to 1998 Natwest didn't pass on any information to credit reference companies, and that they still weren't authorised to pass on the details of anyone whose account was opened before that date. I therefore gave him my permission to do pass my details on, and he wrote a letter to both agencies giving them my account numbers, dates the accounts were opened, past addresses, and a statement to say that all of my accounts had been operated in a satisfactory manner. I have a copy of this letter.