Apex credit management harassing me over overdraft payments

Martysip

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4192 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi guys,

I had a student overdraft with hbos which I defaulted on because they added charges I wasn't aware of. This took me outside my agreed limit. After a while the debt was passed on to Blair Oliver and Scott debt collectors. After missing a few payments I was contacted by Apex Credit Management. I agreed to pay £20pm which I did for about 14 months until the last couple of months when I was out of work and couldn't afford it. I am a full time student.

They have since been harassing me on the phone so I asked them to send me a copy of my original credit agreement and to only contact me in writing. Before doing this i offered to pay £20 next week and again at the end of August. They refused to accept this.

Have I done the right thing by asking for the original agreement? Just worried they might seek the full amount now. What should I do? Any advice would be gratefully received.

Thank you.

My first piece of advice would be to stop dealing with them over the telephone, you have no way of proving that they have refused your payments.

I would write and offer this amount, and inform them that you require their answer in writing, which will give you a paper trail for production in Court should it go that far.

The fact that you have been paying, and want to continue paying, will sit well with a Judge if they take you to Court.