Jobseekers allowance cancelled+back date payments

junior232
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5001 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

I have a query about jobseekers allowance. I have been studying at university for the past 5 years, i was in my final year this year and completed my final exam on the 7th of may.

I made a claim for jobseekers allowance and an appointment was made on the 12th of may, i attended the appointment and i was asked when i would like to claim from, i have never claimed jobseekers before so i stated i would like to claim from the 7th of may because that is when i finished university.

Now after the appointment i was told i would recieve a letter stating what i would entitled to and i would receive the money in two weeks, two week went by and no money received and i received a letter on the 25th of may stating i could get jobseekers allowance because i was in full time education, so i phoned jobseekers and they told me my claim was cancelled because my university end date was on the 22nd of may and i was told make a rapid reclaim and claim from the 22nd of may.

On the 30th of may i received my results and i didnt do well on a few exams so i had to resit the exams, if anyone has done final year exams they would know it does take up a lot of your time, i was so worried and busy revising for the exams i failed i didnt have time to call jobseekers and go through another 40 minute application and arrange an appointment, i was all the way in wolverhampton away from home so i basically didnt have time.