Sammiec0108

HSBC Overdraft - Default...HELP!!

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 3684 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hi all,

I keep an eye on this board and have always found them pretty inspiring so thought i'd give it a go with my case. The bare details are:

Before i went to uni i had a regular (think it must have been current account) with HSBC, i then changed it to a student Acc. By the time i graduated i had an agreed student overdraft with them of £1600 interest free. The overdraft was at about £1250 when i left (June 2007). At the time of graduating i had no income and had no way to pay this off, as it was interest free there was no time pressure and so the account stayed dormant.

During university i kept my account registered at my family home, we then moved in January 2007 (i was still at uni), my parents set up a mail forwarding service and we all sent change of address forms to HSBC. I phoned HSBC soon after and they confirmed they had received the change of address and so i assumed that it would be processed accordingly.

Fast-forward to January 2008 (having literally just gained employment) and i received a notice from Metropolitan Debt Collection :mad:(originally posted to my old address but forwarded via the postal forwarding service) for the whole sum of the overdraft. I got really freaked out and paid the whole amount there and then. On the letter from the DCA it stated that if paid within 14 days nothing would be out on my credit file.