ng164848

Employer trying to do things the right way

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 3698 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Ok, here is a rough estimate

I am a manager of a Company. We run on a subscription basis, run many activities and require a driven task force.

I, recently (within last 2 weeks), had a meeting with a member of staff where they were invited to bring colleague/bring evidence of work etc and I issued a verbal warning to a member of management staff for failing to achieve documented tasks I'd asked him to achieve/perform.

Following on from this, this week was time for subscription renewals on 2 out of 5 subscriptions we work on (they resubscribe quarterly). These were specifically "his" areas. the drop off has been the biggest we've ever seen as a Company since we began 5 years ago, they were poorly managed (nearly 50% left until last minute to re-subscribe, rather than tied up weeks in advance as is the norm), and he, again hasn't achieved the other tasks he has been set.

Can I jump from verbal warning to dismissal on the basis that he is actually damaging the business by being there. I'd rather take on the extra work myself!

If I was able to arrange another meeting, can I give him a written warning for one set of poor subscriptions and porr management, whilst offering another for the second set and dismiss - or would this not be possible as they've happened in such a short period, therefore, not allowing me to go down the disciplinary route in between occurences?

Hope this makes sense?