Help with dismissal please - gross misconduct

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4047 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi, this is my very first post on this forum and I hope someone can help me.

Some basic facts first: I am a bus driver and I have worked for the company for just under 10years and have got a clean record with them. My attendance is 100% and timekeeping is just as good.

I had a blameworthy accident at work last week. Here's what happened - I was in service travelling at 29mph (there is proof of the speed) in a 30mph zone, and there was a parked car up ahead. I moved out to overtake the parked car, but misjudged the distance and caught the back of the car (no driver/passengers in the car). I braked as soon as I knew I hit the car and got the bus to a safe standstill. Unfortunately, the car was pushed in front of the bus causing the car to be a write off and approx £10,000 damage to the bus.

No one was injured and there is CCTV and one independant witness statement to confirm what happened.

I had alcohol and drugs tests which came back clear, and I had a medical and eye test which I also passed, no problems. I was suspended on full pay for a week until the disciplinary which was today.

I have now had a summary dismissal for gross misconduct which they have said is "driving without due care and attention". I cannot see how they have classed it as driving without due care and attention as I had full attention and control of the bus, but I just misjudged my width.