Re: Connaught collections

21lc21
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5194 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

I have a debt which is being dealt with by Connaught Collections. I have been making regular monthly payments for over 3 years now of £15. They have recently been in touch with me asking for £200 a month!!. I explained that I could not afford to pay this amount. They then said that it will be passed to their legal department and that I should contact them with an offer nearer to £200 a month. I cannot afford to pay the £200 a month that they want and I am not sure what to do. Can anyone please advise me? .

Edited by 21lc21

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi

Basic rules for dealing with DCA's

1. Never talk. Only accept/offer written communications. (When they were in touch I bet it was not a letter but a phone monkey). This is so you can have proof of what was offered and agreed by either party.

2. Only you know what you can afford. It is not for them to dictate to you what they will accept. Recognize what your priority debts are which are basically as follows:

a. Rent/Mortgage (as you have to live somewhere)

b. Council Tax (get behind with this and you could ultimatley go to jail, which will never be the case with almost any other kind of debt).

c. Utility/food etc.

d. Transport

e. Child support etc.

Any spare money can be used to pay debts but don't leave yourself hopelessly short.