poundhound1808

Creditors won't accept offer of token payments - what next?

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 3634 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Bit of advice please.

One loan with Co-op (£8K) and a loan (£10K) and overdraft (£1K) with HSBC, all after 2007 so enforceable unfortunately.

I've been making token payments of £2 to both for the last two months, in the form of postal orders with a cover letter stating that this is all I can afford, and also asking to freeze interest/charges.

Both have now replied to say they won't accept the offer, yet the payments are showing as credited on the accounts. I have read somewhere that by not sending payments back they are deemed to have accepted my offer - is this correct?

What would my next step be? Just keep sending the same letter every month, and enclose the postal order, or is there something better? I saw a letter/template on here a while ago (didn't keep it, head was not screwed on) that had a phrase along the lines of 'I am disappointed at your refusal to accept my offer of payment', or similar. If someone could link me to this, it would be much appreciated. The last letter from Co-op actually sounds more serious, threatening legal action etc., so I'd like to 'up my game' as well so to speak.

Many thanks in advance for any assistance.

poundhound