Default help please

HL123
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5259 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

CAG newbie here looking for some help please! This might end up being long so I'll apologise in advance :oops:

I decided to get a copy of my Equifax credit report today, and what a shock that was! In 2007, there are serious mortgage arrears and a default of almost £18,000 from a secured loan on a property I used to own with my ex. We split up in 2005 and I moved to Scotland, he stayed while we tried to sell the house. It took two years to sell (it needed major refurbishment - hence the secured loan), and during this time he told me he was paying the mortgage and loan every month, and even emailed me his bank statements a few times to 'prove it' (obviously now I know these were doctored!). I'd set up a mail redirect to my new address and written to the lenders telling them I'd moved out, but I didn't get any letters from them about the arrears, so I had no reason to doubt him. I know that both the mortgage and the loan were settled when the house was finally sold in August 2007, but looking at my credit report I can see he was already 6 months behind with the payments at that point. Luckily the mortgage didn't default, however the secured loan (different lender) did default. The balance on this loan was almost £18,000.