BankFodder BankFodder

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 3733 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hi, i'm hoping someone can help me!

I owed around £345 in council tax (this has now gone up to over £450 with charges) and my account got passed to rossendales.

A lady i thought to be very nice visited my home, and told me they could set up a payment plan blah blah blah, but to do this they needed my signature and a list with 6 of my items on. so me being naive signed it, i'm now aware this is a walking possesion order.

Anyway, they asked me to pay £20 a month (as im a student and dp is on sick atm) by the 23rd of the month. I went into the bank on the 21st, and paid the £20 on a slip they had provided, which i have proof off.

I received a letter at the start of the week stating i had paid late and to pay the full amount in 7 days or they were coming for my goods.

Dp has been on the phone no end about it all, and rossendales are washing their hands, saying it can take up to a week to clear (although we werent told this) and thus this is our own fault, and theres nothing more we can do.

The bailiff will not accept a payment plan and i really don't know what else to do!

The council will not recall the debt either!

Is there anything i can do, as we simply can't get that sort of money together, we have 2 children, and dp is shortly to undergo surgery so is out of work.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated

Thank you, Jemma

Council Tax is regarded as a priority debt.