BankFodder BankFodder

Johnny1978

asking for o/d fees to be waived?

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 3736 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hi there,

I had an overdraft with lloyds tsb 4 years ago that stood at 2k. They put me in collections when i was a student and I've worked really hard to get it down to the £90 it was two weeks ago. They sent me a letter telling me my o/d would be taken away, and i thought that a cheque would clear and i'd be able to pay it off. However, come friday my account still wasnt in credit and i now had an unauthorised o/d. By the time i credited and attempted to close my account on tuesday morning i was told that I owed £190 in charges because of those 4 days. :-o:-o

I nearly hit the deck. I am unemployed right now and on benefits and i wanted to close the damn account and get things paid off- now i'm going to be hit with these charges in december. i can only just afford to make this payment and it leaves me very short. whats more i am due to start nursing training soon, so i shant have much money to spare in the coming months either.

The guy in my branch was very sympathetic and agreed off the record that these charges were beyond the pale and spiteful- £190 in charges for a £90 o/d? He said if it were up to him, he'd write them off, but he didnt have the power to do so. He suggested I write a letter telling them i couldn't afford to pay and to ask them to waive the charges. He told me my situation was ridiculous and to really ensure I did. he said he wasn't hopeful they would, but told me to give it a go nevertheless.