Brand new ACER 7535G laptop goes bust!!

jagbirs
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5210 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I wish to share my experience of owning an ACER 7535G laptop for a fleeting few weeks. I bought it from Currys on 9th August 2009 for £599.99, because my other laptop was getting kind of old. I work as a software developer so I needed to install all my development software on the new one. Because of this I could not even use it for the first 2 weeks because I did not find time to get everything on it (taking out Windows Vista and installing Windows XP being one of those). Eventually I started using it regularly about 3 weeks after I had bought it. Then exactly 5 weeks after I had bought it, it died on 13th September 2009!

It froze when I was working on it. The screen became garbled although I could still read the last thing I was working on (this to me suggested something wrong with the GPU, or its driver). I had to do a hard reboot by pressing and holding the power button. The next time it froze again before the windows login dialog was displayed, and there were a few pixles on the screen glowing psychedelically, and this time there was also some sound of static coming from the speakers. I tried to hard boot it again and after that nothing ever came up on the screen. The power and other lights do come on, but other than that it is completely dead.