BT Connection Charge

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4272 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hey guys,

I'm in desperate need of assistance.

Basically I am a student about to move in to a house with 4 other people, we have decided to go with BT for phone so I did a bit of research. The tenants before us were with BT for telephone themselves, and their contract came to an end when they moved out in July, I was made aware of the fact that if there were any problems with the phone line, and/or there was no dial tone that we would have to pay an activation fee of £122.50 or thereabouts. Then I read this on the BT website -

"If the premises has had telephone service from BT in the recent past, and the wiring and socket is undamaged and the line still has dialling tone, a connection charge may not be payable. Where there is no suitable BT telephone line available in the property a connection charge of £122.50(Inc VAT) may apply. This fee covers engineering work in the exchange or customer's property in order to connect the line. BT will advise of a connection charge at the time the order is placed however this will be confirmed after checks have been carried out against the details of your property, to ascertain the condition of the wiring and sockets."

So I decided to check whether there was a dial tone at the house still and there was, I also distinctly remember testing the phone last July before the last tenants were cut off, I made an incoming and outgoing call and everything was fine. So near as I can tell everything is in working order and we have a dial tone.