Sickness Absence Review - What can I do?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5382 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello,

I have today been informed that I am to be placed on sickness absence review. The reason being that in the past 12 months rolling period I have been off on 8 occurances for a total of 17 days. The sickness has been well documented and I have doctors certificates to cover these periods. :evil:

I am a sales manager and as a result of the sickness absense review I will not receive any commission for 6 months (about £7k) and will not be able to have this backdated at the end of the review, I will not be able to take time off as flexi and I will not be in a position to receive a pay increase in Dec in line with the rest of the company.

I am obviously not happy, if my sickness had formed a pattern or I was not genuinely ill - one instance I came into work despite being signed off because I knew how serious my absence was, only to become dizzy at the top of a flight of stairs and fall down them and be taken home by my manager, i had an inner ear infection.

My company T&C's on sickness absense states

"The emphasis of this review is on remedial action designed to restore attendance to an acceptable level.

Reasons, duration’s, frequencies, patterns of absence, departmental needs and individual circumstances all differ therefore it is not possible to state optimum levels after which an employee could expect to be placed on review.