Should I pay up now, then reclaim?

Sri.Theo
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5325 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi everyone,

I'm a student that's just spent the year studying in Copenhagen, I opened a Nationwide account because they don't have any charges on withdrawing money abroad.

Bargain I thought.

Didn't really turn out that way though, as once I used up all the money I originally deposited I resorted to using my main Natwest account. I found that easier as I had internet banking set up and could keep track of my money. What I didn't realise is that I had gone £20 overdrawn in August 2008 (the account wasn't supposed to have an overdraft) and this has spiralled into £162 of debt which I discovered when I arrived at home.

What I'm looking for some advice on is whether I should simply pay up then try to reclaim the money- they're charging me a £20 fine plus interest every month. Or is there some way in which I can challenge the fine without paying, which I'd really like to do as I'm pretty broke at the moment.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

TL: DR, I'm £162 in debt through fees to Nationwide, should I pay then reclaim or is there a way to challenge it now?

Edited by Sri.Theo
Added TL:DR

Which account is it with, Nationwide or NatWest?

Is it a student account with NatWest(which is the bank I think you mean)?

FSA Waiver on Bank Charges:http://www.fsa.gov.uk/pages/Doing/Regulated/Notify/Waiver/pdf/dir_quart_0709.pdf

It's the Nationwide account I'm overdrawn on. Basically I used it, then abandoned it without realising I was in debt, this led to masses of charges building up.

My Natwest is a student account but that's fine.