You can now change your notification sounds by going to this link https://www.consumeractiongroup.co.uk/index.php?/&app=soundboard&module=soundboard&controller=managesounds

You can find a library of free notification sounds in several places on the Internet. Here's one which has a very large selection https://notificationsounds.com/notification-sounds

BankFodder BankFodder

BankFodder BankFodder

Lou7477

Voluntarily Surrendered my home.....

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 3959 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hi all

I'm new to this but in Jan 2008, I was made redundant from a £31k a year job (in the mortgage industry) and couldn't get another of that level locally. I have 2 boys under 7 and local jobs were a must, no way could I commute to larger cities.

The lovely people I spent over 7 years working for didn't pay my final salary, notice or redundancy money, it would have been over £7k in all. I took them to court and got £4k (including over £700 in court expenses) but it was too little too late.

To cut a long story short, I took an admin job at £15k per year just to have some cash coming in, sold my BMW and bought a crappy old banger, borrowed from my mum and dad just to keep our home until one day it dawned on us both that it had all been pointless. We were in negative equity too by the way so couldn't sell as Northern Rock wanted more than the house was worth to clear the land registry (or something like that)

I would probably never again find a local job that paid so well :sad: so once our possessions had been sold and the £'s pumped into the mortgage...what next?