AOL- ongoing bill after cancellation

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4499 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello - newbie here :oops:

I have just come home to a debt collection letter regarding an account i had with AOL.

I was with them for years and then the service deteriorated - i was ringing for technical help about 4 times a week. In the end i cancelled the service and went with Virgin.

I have been with Virgin for over 6 months.

I phoned AOL who say i never cancelled the broadband and so i now owe them £172.37 :evil: I did not even get a bill from AOL until this demand.

Anyone any ideas please?

I really do not have the money to pay for services not used.

Help more than appreciated.

x

There are a lot of these and at the risk of illegally slagging them off, I believe they wait a period long enough for 'ex' customers to have ditched their bills etc; and then chase them for non existant missed payments etc;

If you cancelled by phone then ask them for everything they have on you (sar) including phone transcripts and see what comes.

I would also say that you joining Virgin is proof you no longer use them as why would anyone continue to use a cheap nasty service alongside a much superior service.

For those with a differing view, I wasn't talking about call centers.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:!: All the information I impart is my advice based on my experience. It does not constitute professional advice. If in doubt, always consult with a professional. :!:

:-) If you feel my post has been helpful, please click my scales. :-)