Where do we stand on returning new car?!

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5683 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi

My partner bought a new festa on HP in July of this year over a 4 year period, he has just been offered a company car.

We need to cut down on our outgoings and only bought the car because he needed it for work.

Where do we stand, what are our options.

Thanks

I love CAG!

Indeed it may be worth considering the option of refusing the company car...it may actually cost less this way.

7 years in retail customer service

Expertise in letting and rental law for 6 years

By trade - I'm an IT engineer working in the housing sector.

Please note that any posts made by myself are for information only and should not and must not be taken as correct or factual. If in doubt, consult with a solicitor or other person of equal legal standing.

Please click the star if I have helped!!

If you got it in July, I suspect your finance (first payment) started in August? You will have massive negative equity on it as from what I know, you wouldnt be able to just hand it back even under the finance agreement (you have to pay x amount to do this)

BUT... smaller cars are worth a fair bit this day and age. Without actually doing it, you could find out how much it is worth and get a settlement figure from the HP company. It may be that you don't have to pay THAT much and in the long run, it makes sense to pay the remainder negative equity off - thus terminating the agreement (or rather settling it)