evicting my flatmate - joint tenancy

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4965 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi there, i've come to ask for some help.

I am a mature student who shares a flat with one other student. We are signed on a joint tenancy.

Since moving in 8 months ago my flatmate has become a nightmare. He is doing hard drugs in the flat, partying every day and lets his dog go to toilet on the floor! We get complaints from neighbours, but i am too scared of him to consult him as i feel he may turn violent.

All i want is a quiet place to study as a top grade student.

We have passed the minimum term and are on a month by month rolling contract now.

The letting agents are aware that i am not happy living with him, and they are on my side as they know he is always paying his rent late, but i haven't yet told them the severity of his habits.

I'd like to know: If i told the letting agents of his habits (which are breaking the tenency agreement) can they evict him only?

Any addistional advice would be appreciated!

Thanks x

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear you are having such a hard time with your flatmate. I will move your thread to the Residential Lettings forum where someone with experience in that area will be able to give you advice.

Kind Regards

Ell-enn

Help us to keep on helping

Please consider making a donation, however small, if you have benefited from advice on the forums

This site is run solely on donations

My advice is based on my opinion and experience only. It is not to be taken as legal advice - if you are unsure you should seek professional help.