SWPP Photographer Subscription

cstevens

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4962 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi.

I am a part-time professional photographer. In november 2006 I joined a professional "organsiation" called the SWPP (Society of Wedding & Portrait Photographers). Basically it costs £99 a year for a subscription and for that you get a magazine every two months, use of their logos and lots of discounts.

In November 2007 my subscription was up for renewal and I decided that it wasn't worth the money and like any other subscription I just didnt pay the renewal fee. This would normally mean that the subscription would be cancelled.

They sent a few reminders and I discarded them and today I have receieved a letter from them sent 2nd class recorded delivery giving me 7 days to pay else they will go to a debt collection agency. The letter is dated the 1st September 2007 !!!!!!....slight oversight on their part!.

I have done some digging, and it seems that in very very small print on their website they have a clause that states that to leave the subscription you have to give 3 months notice in writing by recorded delivery....and there seems to be a lot of people complaining on the internet of the same thing as me.

Basically they are now telling me that I have to pay them the £99 due and then 3 months before Nov 2008 I can put in notice to quit. There is nothing anywhere to suggest that this is a rolling contract, other than this small print of 3 months notice.